Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Go Back   Ethnographic Arms & Armour > Discussion Forums > European Armoury
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 16th March 2021, 02:34 PM   #1
David R

Default Help and comments on an Axe head

I bought this years ago from a dealer in oddments and antiques. Evidently of some age, hand forged in the classic wrap around construction. If it had not a makers stamp I would have judged it to be Medieval, any ideas?
Attached Images

David R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2021, 11:08 PM   #2
M ELEY

Hello David and good to see you on this side of the Forum! I'm no expert, but I think these are Spanish 'Biscayne'-type trade ax heads. I know they look like early Viking pieces, but I've seen the early Spanish types with this pattern. See 'Swords and Blades of the American Revolution', Neumann, pg 262, example 16A. They have what I call a 'droopy' blade. There are Iroquois axes with similar blades, but I think this is a trade blade. There was a wide time period for this, from the 1600's literally up to about 1850. Where did you find it?
M ELEY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2021, 12:06 AM   #3
David R

It being a trade axe makes a lot of sense, and explains the simple fabrication and old style shape. Thank you!.

I bought it off a stall at a reenactment fair. The vendor known as "Bodger" dealt in all sorts of stuff, broken sword blades,axes, daggers and whatever. His stock was a mix of random antiques, remounted blades and bespoke reproductions. It was always worth a trawl over his table.
This one had a literal branch stuffed in it as a handle..... and I do mean a branch, not a decent piece of branch wood as you see on ethnic items.
Old 17th March 2021, 12:23 AM   #4
M ELEY