Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Go Back   Ethnographic Arms & Armour > Discussion Forums > Ethnographic Weapons

Old 9th July 2020, 01:59 PM   #1
manishkulkarni

Default An extremely unique Indopersian double bladed short sword, ID berde!

Hi All, recently purchased this from a UK dealer. Not that I'm a expert by any stretch of imagination, but haven't quite seen anything like it ever before, don't even know what to call it...! Circa late 19th century but possibly earlier. Both blades and edges are pretty sharp for their age. Overall 17 inch, blades approx 14 inch.

Anybody has a view on it's name, age, origin, purpose...?! Could this have a scabbard...?! Potentially a bespoke, made to order piece one reckons...?!

Would be grateful for any information! Thanks.
Attached Images

manishkulkarni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th July 2020, 11:00 PM   #2
Ian
Vikingsword Staff

Very odd. Condition looks more recent than 19th C.
Ian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th July 2020, 11:39 PM   #3
ariel

I agree. Optimistically late 20th, realistically 21st century. I remember seeing a couple of them on E-bay over the past couple of years.

Pretty risky and impractical design: one would almost instinctively try to catch the opponent’s blade between the double blades. With the resultant loss of fingers.
ariel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2020, 07:15 AM   #4
mariusgmioc

To me, this looks like a very recent fantasy weapon.

Absolutely not practical as it cannot provide a stable grip.
mariusgmioc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2020, 03:39 PM   #5
manishkulkarni