Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Ethnographic Arms & Armour (http://www.vikingsword.com/vb/index.php)
-   European Armoury (http://www.vikingsword.com/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   Closed Burgonet, help identify, please :) (http://www.vikingsword.com/vb/showthread.php?t=27831)

SimonM77 24th April 2022 10:09 AM

Closed Burgonet, help identify, please :)

5 Attachment(s)
Hi there,

I am considering this Closed Burgonet, probably Flemish/French, probably first half of 17th century?

The "skull" is from one piece.

Does anyone have any info about those? I am by no means an expert on the subject.

- Simon :)

Raf 24th April 2022 10:57 AM

These are currently being manufactured in Roorkee India.

SimonM77 24th April 2022 10:58 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raf (Post 271407)
These are currently being manufactured in Roorkee India.

Do you have a source to compare?

SimonM77 24th April 2022 11:00 AM

Lewis & Grant has one for sale that looks a lot like it?

Raf 24th April 2022 01:50 PM

4 Attachment(s)
[QUOTE=SimonM77;271409]Lewis & Grant has one for sale that looks a lot like it?

Yes , Im afraid that's the problem. Here is another one. The ingenious craftsmen of Roorkee have recently started making copies of both replicas and fakes manufactured in Eastern Europe. Image 2 is a replica made in India. Image 3 is an Eastern European fake . The last one is one is made in India. Impossible to say whether the image is of the copy or the original.

SimonM77 24th April 2022 02:34 PM

This is what I get for once of them:

Made in India.

Here is a review: